OpenAI Resets ChatGPT Work And Codex Limits For Paid Users
OpenAI executive Tibo announced usage resets for paid ChatGPT Work and Codex users on August 8 and August 29, 2026, then posted that a global reset would be made for all paid subscriptions on September 7. The approved posts do not publish a numeric allowance, a new API billing rule, or a new recurring reset schedule.
OpenAI executive Tibo says the company reset usage limits for all paid users of ChatGPT Work and Codex on August 8, 2026. His approved-source post says the reset was made alongside the GPT-5.6 Sol rollout and applies to paid ChatGPT Work and Codex usage. (Tibo on X)
Treat this as a one-time usage reset announcement, not as a new permanent quota schedule. OpenAI’s current help documentation confirms that ChatGPT Work and Codex draw from the same agentic usage and credit pool when available on a plan, and that users should check their usage page or limit banner for the options available to them. (OpenAI Help Center)
Update: another reset for paid users on August 29
In a new approved-source post on August 29, Tibo said OpenAI was resetting usage for all paid users of Codex and ChatGPT Work. He added that the team had been working through thousands of reports and shipping fixes, but the post does not specify a new numeric allowance or a recurring quota change. (Tibo on X)
OpenAI’s help documentation describes one-time usage-limit resets as occasional offers whose eligibility and affected limits can vary. It says an automatic reset is applied directly to the covered limits and is not saved for later; usage after the reset counts against the refreshed allowance. Check the usage dashboard or limit banner for the account-specific result rather than assuming that every plan receives the same amount. (OpenAI Help Center)
Update: global reset for paid subscriptions on September 7
On September 7, OpenAI executive Tibo wrote that the company would do a global reset of usage for all paid subscriptions. The post does not enumerate the products, plans, allowance size, or reset mechanics. (Tibo on X)
On September 8, Tibo followed up: “All reset for everyone. Enjoy the week with Astra.” That confirms the follow-up message, but it still does not establish a new permanent quota, a recurring cadence, an API credit change, or a plan-by-plan entitlement. (Tibo on X)
Read this as a reset event, not a change to the amount of usage included in a subscription. Users should check their own usage page or limit banner, because the approved posts do not provide enough detail to convert the announcement into a universal allowance.
Key Takeaways
- The announcement covers paid ChatGPT Work and Codex users.
- Tibo says the reset happened on August 8, 2026.
- A new August 29 post says OpenAI was resetting usage again for all paid Codex and ChatGPT Work users.
- A September 7 post says OpenAI would make a global reset for all paid subscriptions, followed by a September 8 “all reset” confirmation.
- ChatGPT Work and Codex share an agentic usage and credit pool when available on a plan.
- The reset posts do not publish new plan-by-plan limits or a new reset cadence.
- A separate August 25 post says the five-hour limit will return for Plus accounts across ChatGPT Work and Codex on August 26, 2026.
- The announcement names ChatGPT Work and Codex, not the OpenAI API.
- Check Settings, the Codex usage page, or the limit banner for account-specific status.
What The Announcement Says
The approved OpenAI post says: “I have reset usage limits for all paid users of ChatGPT Work and Codex.” It also says GPT-5.6 Sol can be used "pretty much anywhere, including in the CC harness" (a reference to running the model inside Claude Code, since the post quote-tweets an Anthropic engineer saying the company does not ban people for using harnesses with other models) and frames the reset as a celebration of that. The post does not state a new numeric allowance, an expiration time, or a permanent change to plan terms. (Tibo on X)
That distinction matters. A reset replenishes access for the affected experience, while a quota schedule defines how much usage a plan normally includes and when its regular window renews. The announcement provides the first fact, not the second.
How ChatGPT Work And Codex Usage Relate
OpenAI’s current help documentation says usage from Codex and ChatGPT Work draws from the same agentic usage and credit pool when both features are available on a user’s plan. Task consumption varies with the size and complexity of the work, the model, and where the task runs. (OpenAI Help Center)
The shared pool means activity in Work and Codex can affect the same allowance. A small script may use only part of the allowance, while a larger codebase, long-running task, or extended session can use more. OpenAI also says ChatGPT Voice in Work and Codex on desktop uses the same shared agentic pool for task work, while ordinary ChatGPT Voice has separate caps. (OpenAI Help Center)
Update: five-hour limit returns for Plus accounts
On August 25, Tibo said OpenAI will bring back the five-hour limit for Plus accounts across ChatGPT Work and Codex on August 26, 2026. This is a new plan-and-product availability statement, not the August 8 one-time reset described above. (Tibo on X)
The approved post does not state a numeric allowance, explain how usage will be counted at the boundary, or change the help documentation’s guidance to check the usage page and limit banner for account-specific status. Do not infer a new API limit, price, or policy for plans other than the Plus scope named in the post. (Tibo on X; OpenAI Help Center)
What The Reset Does Not Establish
The approved announcement does not state:
| Not established by the announcement | Why you should not infer it |
|---|---|
| A new numeric limit by plan | No plan-by-plan allowance is listed |
| A new recurring reset schedule | The post describes a reset, not a cadence |
| API credits or API rate-limit changes | The named experiences are ChatGPT Work and Codex |
| A permanent increase to included usage | No ongoing quota change is announced |
| A universal eligibility rule beyond paid users | Account and workspace details are not specified |
Keep those boundaries in place when interpreting the reset. OpenAI’s documentation tells users to check the usage page or limit banner for the options available on their own plan rather than relying on a generic number. (OpenAI Help Center)
How To Check Your Account
If you use Codex or Work, open Settings and review the usage details or the limit banner. OpenAI says some users may see options such as applying an available reset, adding credits, upgrading, or waiting for the limit to reset. The available choices depend on the plan and workspace context. (OpenAI Help Center)
If you reached a limit during an active turn, OpenAI says Codex can continue that turn subject to fair-use limits. After the turn ends, use the usage page or banner to see what access is available next. (OpenAI Help Center)
Bottom Line
Paid ChatGPT Work and Codex users received usage-limit resets announced by OpenAI on August 8 and August 29, 2026, followed by a September 7 global reset announcement for all paid subscriptions and a September 8 “all reset” follow-up. OpenAI also said the five-hour limit would return for Plus accounts across ChatGPT Work and Codex on August 26, 2026. The reset posts do not publish a numeric limit or an API change, so check the Codex usage page, Settings, or the limit banner tied to your plan for authoritative account status.
Sources
- Tibo on X, “I have reset usage limits for all paid users of ChatGPT Work and Codex” (August 8, 2026): https://x.com/thsottiaux/status/2086188036493344823
- Tibo on X, “We are reseting usage for all paid users of Codex and ChatGPT Work” (August 29, 2026): https://x.com/thsottiaux/status/2093801758665715784
- Tibo on X, “We will do a global reset of the usage for all paid subscriptions” (September 7, 2026): https://x.com/thsottiaux/status/2097043464538264003
- Tibo on X, “All reset for everyone. Enjoy the week with Astra.” (September 8, 2026): https://x.com/thsottiaux/status/2097174560412246215
- Tibo on X, “Tomorrow we will bring back the 5h limit for Plus accounts across ChatGPT Work and Codex” (August 25, 2026): https://x.com/thsottiaux/status/2092058556707344708
- OpenAI Help Center, “Using Codex with your ChatGPT plan”: https://help.openai.com/en/articles/11369540-using-codex-with-your-chatgpt-plan
Read next
Keep building the workspace playbookOpenAI Launches ChatGPT Work: A Codex-Sibling Agent for Long-Running Deliverables
OpenAI introduced ChatGPT Work, a new agent in ChatGPT powered by Codex and GPT-5.6 that takes action across apps and files and stays on a project for hours to turn a goal into finished work. Work handles research and deliverables; Codex stays the dedicated software-development agent.
OpenAI Brings Codex Security Review to GitHub Pull Requests
Codex Security Review is OpenAI’s research-preview workflow for deeper security analysis of GitHub pull requests. It uses the diff, repository context, and optional threat-model guidance, then reports actionable findings in the pull request and a fuller report in Codex. Enterprise, Business, Edu, and Pro users can configure it; Plus is excluded.
Codex Permission Profiles: Least-Privilege Controls for Local Agent Work
OpenAI shipped Codex permission profiles in beta -- reusable, inheritable policies that replace the coarse sandbox_mode/sandbox_workspace_write combo. A profile binds OS-enforced filesystem read/write/deny rules (down to **/*.env) to per-domain network and Unix-socket rules. Enterprise admins get fail-closed allowlists via requirements.toml. Profiles govern local sandboxed command execution only, not MCP servers, app connectors, browser, or cloud.
Frequently Asked Questions
What did OpenAI reset?
In an August 8 post and again in an August 29 post, OpenAI executive Tibo said he had reset usage limits for paid users of ChatGPT Work and Codex. On September 7, he said OpenAI would do a global reset for all paid subscriptions, followed by a September 8 post saying all were reset. In a separate August 25 post, he said the five-hour limit would return for Plus accounts across ChatGPT Work and Codex on August 26, 2026.
What did OpenAI say about the August 29 reset?
In an August 29 post, Tibo said OpenAI was resetting usage for all paid users of Codex and ChatGPT Work and that the team had been working through reports and shipping fixes. The post does not publish a new quota, a new reset cadence, or a plan-by-plan allowance.
What five-hour limit change did OpenAI announce?
On August 25, OpenAI executive Tibo said the five-hour limit will return for Plus accounts across ChatGPT Work and Codex on August 26, 2026. The approved post does not state a numeric allowance or describe how the limit will be enforced beyond that scope.
Does the reset apply to the OpenAI API?
The August announcements name paid ChatGPT Work and Codex users, while the September 7 post refers broadly to all paid subscriptions without mentioning API accounts. Do not treat the announcements as an API credit, billing, or rate-limit change.
Do ChatGPT Work and Codex share usage?
OpenAI’s current help documentation says Codex and ChatGPT Work draw from the same agentic usage and credit pool when those features are available on a plan. The amount consumed varies with the task, model, and where the task runs.
How can I check my remaining Codex usage?
OpenAI directs users who are nearing or have reached a Codex limit to Settings, the Codex usage page, or the limit banner for the options available on their plan. Those options can include applying an available reset, adding credits, upgrading, or waiting for the limit to reset.