OpenAI Lists New ChatGPT Voice in Desktop Pricing for Work and Codex
OpenAI's current Codex pricing documentation lists Voice in Desktop at $0.05 per connected minute and 1.25 credits per minute for credit-based Business, Edu, and Enterprise workspaces. OpenAI Developers amplified a post describing the change as an approximately 60% price reduction for Voice in Work and Codex; the documentation confirms the current rates but does not provide a prior-rate comparison.
OpenAI's current Codex pricing documentation lists ChatGPT Voice in Desktop at $0.05 per minute. For Business, Edu, and Enterprise workspaces with credit-based billing, it lists 1.25 credits per minute. (OpenAI Codex pricing)
The pricing change surfaced through an approved OpenAI Developers repost, which amplified a post describing approximately 60% lower pricing for Voice in Codex and Work in the desktop app. The official pricing page confirms the current rates, but it does not publish the previous rate or a dated change log, so the precise historical discount should be treated as the repost's approximate characterization rather than recalculated here. (OpenAI Developers on X; OpenAI Codex pricing)
Key Takeaways
- Voice in Desktop is currently listed at $0.05 per minute.
- Credit-based Business, Edu, and Enterprise workspaces are listed at 1.25 credits per minute.
- Voice uses the existing Codex usage budget, while the model handling a task is billed separately at standard token rates.
- Voice time and task work share the plan's usage limits.
- OpenAI Developers described the change as approximately 60% lower, but the current pricing page does not state the former rate.
- The documented surface is the ChatGPT desktop app, not API-key access.
The Current Voice Rate
OpenAI's Codex pricing page places Voice in Desktop in the same usage model as ChatGPT Work and Codex. The page says Voice in Desktop uses the existing Codex usage budget at $0.05 per minute. It separately notes that GPT-Live manages the live conversation and that the model handling the task is billed at its standard token rates. (OpenAI Codex pricing)
That distinction separates two kinds of usage:
- Connected Voice time, which is metered per minute.
- Agentic task work, which uses the selected model and the existing Work or Codex usage and billing rules.
For credit-based Business, Edu, and Enterprise workspaces, the same page lists desktop voice at 1.25 credits per minute. It also says that rate applies when Plus and Pro users spend additional credits. (OpenAI Codex pricing)
The pricing page does not say that $0.05 per minute is a universal replacement for every historical or contractual rate. It directs Enterprise and Edu users with flexible pricing to use the credit-based rate card, while customers with usage-based USD agreements should use their agreement and the applicable USD rate card. (OpenAI Codex pricing)
What Voice Can Control
OpenAI documents ChatGPT Voice in Work and Codex as a desktop capability on macOS and Windows. The ChatGPT desktop app lets a user speak naturally, interrupt, ask questions about active work, and ask Voice to start or coordinate tasks using the tools and permissions available to the selected experience. (OpenAI's Codex help documentation)
The pricing page says Voice and tasks share a plan's usage limits. That means a voice conversation that starts or coordinates agentic work is not an isolated audio feature: the connected minutes have their own meter, while the work initiated through the conversation draws from the shared Work and Codex allowance. (OpenAI Codex pricing)
The documented desktop boundary also matters. OpenAI says ChatGPT Voice in Desktop is not available via an API key. Teams building an automated voice workflow therefore should not assume that the desktop price applies to API-based applications. (OpenAI Codex pricing)
Interpreting the Approximately 60% Reduction
The OpenAI Developers repost amplified a post that said prices had dropped by approximately 60% for Voice in Codex and Work in the desktop app. That approved-account repost is the discovery signal for this update. (OpenAI Developers on X)
The durable OpenAI pricing page supports the current state: $0.05 per minute for Voice in Desktop and 1.25 credits per minute for the listed credit-based workspaces. It does not show the old rate, the effective date of the reduction, or a product-specific historical comparison. This article therefore does not infer an exact before-and-after price from the approximate X wording. (OpenAI Codex pricing)
For a team budgeting the feature, the actionable number is the current rate shown in the pricing documentation. Teams should also check whether their workspace uses included plan limits, additional credits, or a negotiated Enterprise rate card before estimating monthly spend.
Availability and Budgeting Checklist
Before rolling desktop Voice into a team workflow, confirm:
- Which ChatGPT plan and workspace billing mode applies.
- Whether Voice in Work and Codex is enabled on the team's macOS or Windows desktop app.
- How connected Voice minutes are reported separately from task usage.
- Which model is selected for work started through Voice and how its token rates apply.
- Whether the workspace has approval, permission, or data-access controls that affect the tasks Voice can start.
- Whether an Enterprise agreement supersedes the public credit-based rate card.
This is especially important for teams that use Voice to coordinate multiple agents. The minute rate may be easy to calculate, but the underlying task work can vary with model choice, context, retrieval, tool use, and caching. OpenAI's pricing documentation says those factors affect usage, so a short conversation does not imply a fixed task cost. (OpenAI Codex pricing)
Bottom Line
ChatGPT Voice in Desktop now has a clear public rate in OpenAI's Codex pricing documentation: $0.05 per minute, with 1.25 credits per minute listed for credit-based Business, Edu, and Enterprise workspaces. The OpenAI Developers repost frames the change as an approximately 60% reduction for Voice in Work and Codex, while the durable pricing page confirms the current numbers but not the historical baseline. (OpenAI Developers on X; OpenAI Codex pricing)
Sources
- OpenAI Developers on X, repost of “2.4x more ChatGPT Voice in Desktop,” September 14, 2026: https://x.com/OpenAIDevs/status/2099647631870001323
- OpenAI, “Pricing | ChatGPT Learn”: https://developers.openai.com/codex/pricing
- OpenAI Help Center, “ChatGPT Work and Codex”: https://help.openai.com/en/articles/20001275-chatgpt-work-and-codex
Read next
Keep building the workspace playbookOpenAI’s GPT‑Live‑1 powers the new ChatGPT Voice experience (web search, memory, and multimodal chat)
OpenAI’s latest ChatGPT Voice rollout is powered by GPT‑Live‑1 for paid users and GPT‑Live‑1 mini for Free users, enabling simultaneous listening and speaking and adding support for web search, memory, and mixed text+image conversations in Voice.
OpenAI Details GPT-Live’s Full-Duplex Voice Architecture
OpenAI says GPT-Live is a third-generation voice system that can listen and speak at the same time, keep media flowing while deeper reasoning and tool use run asynchronously, and power ChatGPT Voice today. The architecture is also intended to underpin an upcoming GPT-Live API.
OpenAI Resets ChatGPT Work And Codex Limits For Paid Users
OpenAI executive Tibo announced usage resets for paid ChatGPT Work and Codex users on August 8 and August 29, 2026, then posted that a global reset would be made for all paid subscriptions on September 7. The approved posts do not publish a numeric allowance, a new API billing rule, or a new recurring reset schedule.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does ChatGPT Voice in Desktop cost?
OpenAI's current Codex pricing page lists Voice in Desktop at $0.05 per minute. For Business, Edu, and Enterprise workspaces with credit-based billing, it lists 1.25 credits per minute.
Does Voice in Desktop use the same budget as Codex?
OpenAI says Voice in Desktop uses the existing Codex usage budget, while the model handling the task is billed separately at its standard token rates. Voice time and task work share the plan's usage limits.
Where is ChatGPT Voice in Work and Codex available?
OpenAI documents Voice in Work and Codex as a desktop capability on macOS and Windows. The current Codex pricing page lists Voice in the desktop app for eligible ChatGPT plans; Voice in Desktop is not available via an API key.
Did OpenAI document the previous price?
The OpenAI Developers repost described the change as approximately 60% lower, but the current pricing page does not state the previous rate. This article reports the current documented rates without deriving an exact historical comparison.